Latest!

2024 Oscars to premiere one hour earlier for the first time followed by new Abbott Elementary episode

The 96th Oscars is scheduled to air on March 10th, 2024. For the first time, the Oscars will start an hour earlier at 7 pm ET/4 pm PT from the previous timing of 8 pm ET/ 5 pm PT. This way, The Academy Awards will end within primetime, and also make way for a new episode of ABC’s hit comedy series Abbott Elementary. So the current schedule for Oscars 2024 is 7 pm to 10.30 pm ET/ 4 pm to 7.30 pm PT.

With Abbott Elementary airing right after the Oscars, ABC might be looking to take advantage of the viewers pulled by the awards show, according to a report by Variety. The strategy is also seen as something similar to airing a program right after the Super Bowl game. Since the Oscars is one of the most-watched live programs, Abbott Elementary is expected to add to its viewership. This in turn, is also expected to help maintain the viewership for the Oscars, which reportedly goes down as the evening progresses.

Abbott Elementary’s special premiere after the Oscars

  • This would be the third season of Abbott Elementary, a mockumentary sitcom created by Quinta Brunson. The first season aired in December 2021, and was nominated for seven Emmy Awards with three wins. The second season arrived a year later in September 2022, and has been renewed for a third season with a total of 14 episodes.
  • The series is about Abbott Elementary, an underfunded school and predominantly Black school in Philadelphia. Here, a group of teachers are set on helping the students despite several difficulties and odds against them.
  • It stars Brunson as Janine Teagues, an optimistic second-grade teacher, Tyler James Williams as Gregory Eddie, a first-grade teacher, and Janelle James as Ava Coleman, the school’s principal who’s not really on the teachers’ side. The rest of the cast includes Lisa Ann Walter, Chris Perfetti, William Stanford Davis, and Sheryl Lee Ralph.

All to know about 96th Oscars

The 96th Oscars will take place at the Dolby Theatre at Ovation Hollywood. The show will be televised live on ABC, and it will be able to view in more than 200 countries globally. This time too, Jimmy Kimmel will host the awards show, making this his fourth stint so far. Nominations for the 2024 Oscars are scheduled to be announced on January 23rd, 2024. There are already some expected titles, including Barbie, Oppenheimer, Past Lives, and Killers of the Flower Moon, for several awards, including best picture.

It’s interesting to see if this strategy will affect the viewership. The 95th Oscars held earlier this year in March had the highest-rated viewership in three years with 18.76 million viewers.

Comments
Tags: