Latest!

How to delete your Snapchat account

On: December 25, 2020

Snapchat has become one of the most talked about social media app right now. Whether you use Snapchat or not, it has a feature that you would have used somewhere else. Yes, I am talking about the Stories feature that has expanded from Instagram, Facebook to Bumble, Skype to even Spotify. So, whether you like it or not, you just cannot ignore Snapchat.

Also Read: Snapchat Spotlight takes on TikTok and Instagram Reels, will pay users $1 million per day

In this post, we specifically wanted to tackle the question of those who don’t like Snapchat. Say, you don’t want to keep your Snapchat account, we are going to help you delete the account. For those planning to leave, Snapchat makes it somewhat difficult by forcing them to the web interface of the platform.

Snapchat account: how to delete using desktop version

Let me put this right at the front: you cannot use Snapchat on the web. To use the desktop version, you must thus remember your login credentials. Your account, after completing these steps, won’t go away immediately. Snapchat deactivates your account for 30 days and if you change your mind during this time, you will be able to reactivate your account.

However, after 30 days, your Snapchat account will be deleted permanently. Before we get to these steps, remember Snapchat also lets you take a copy of all the data collected by the company. We highly recommend doing this before you delete the account.

How to delete Snapchat on the desktop

  1. Go to Snapchat accounts portal on a browser of your choice.

    Snapchat

    Login to Snapchat accounts portal on the desktop

  2. Now, login using your username or email id associated with the account followed by the password.
  3. You will now see a Manage My Account page with a bunch of options.
  4. Click on Delete My Account option.

    Snapchat

    The manage my account page has a plethora of options including deleting your account

  5. Confirm your choice by reentering your username and password. If you have autofill enabled then it will be entered automatically.
  6. Click on Continue to proceed with deleting your account.

    Snapchat

    When you click, you account will be deactivated for 30 days and then deleted

When you click on continue, your friends on Snapchat will no longer be able to contact you or share snaps with you. It is also important to note that you have thirty days to change your mind and reactivate your account. Before you go ahead with deleting your account, do make sure that you click on the “My Data” option and download your data.

Snapchat account FAQs

Can I recover my Snapchat account after deleting it?

Unfortunately, you’ll not be able to recover your account once it has been permanently deleted. You can recover it if you had temporarily disabled the account. If the account is not recovered within 30 days of disabling, it will be permanently deleted.

Comments
Tags: