Popular instant messaging platform WhatsApp recently rolled out a ‘mute forever’ feature that lets users mute specific chats permanently. It was pushed to Android and iOS devices as well as WhatsApp web. Now the Facebook-owned company has announced another feature called ‘Disappearing Messages’ which is set to roll out soon.
WhatsApp has detailed the latest feature on its FAQ page. Once the user enables the disappearing messages feature, new messages sent to individuals or group chats will disappear after seven days. Let’s take a look at how it works.
WhatsApp Disappearing Messages feature: how will it work?
First and foremost, WhatsApp said that the new feature won’t affect older messages sent or received in the chat. Additonally, if the user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the seven-day period, the preview of disappearing messages may still be displayed in notifications until the app is opened. However, the messages won’t be available in the chat.
Users can turn on or off the disappearing messages feature in individual chats, while in group chats the feature is limited to admins. The disappearing messages might remain in the chat after seven days if the user replies to it. WhatsApp noted that its latest feature won’t work if the disappearing message is forwarded.
The messaging platform added that disappearing messages will be a part of its backups, but the messages will be deleted once the user restores from the backup. If the latest feature is turned on, media sent in a chat thread will also disappear but it will be saved on the phone if auto-download is turned on.
WhatsApp warned users to use disappearing messages only with trusted individuals. When a user sends a disappearing message, the recipient could forward or take a screenshot and save the contents of the message before it disappears.
The WhatsApp disappearing messages feature will be available for iOS, Android, KaiOS and Web users. Here’s how users can enable/disable disappearing messages feature in a simple steps:
- Open the WhatsApp chat and tap on the contacts’ name.
- Tap on the disappearing messages option
- If prompted, tap Continue
- Select on/off as required