Latest!

WhatsApp New Features: Chat Transfers to Android, New Camera Mode Switch and New Block Shortcuts

Highlights

  • WhatsApp is bringing new exciting features to Android & iOS
  • Chat Transfers let you transfer chat history from iOS to Android without Google Drive
  • You can now block someone from notifications

WhatsApp has been adding new features back to back, adding even more features in the future. Features such as chat transfers to Android, new camera mode, and block shortcuts are coming soon to WhatsApp for Android and iOS.

These new features were spotted in the WhatsApp beta by WABetaInfo. Let us talk about the new features on WhatsApp.

Chat Transfers To New Android Device

Whatsapp transfer history

You can now transfer your chat history from iOS to Android without using Drive. This feature will enable users to move their chat history privately and securely to a new device; it is also rumoured that WhatsApp will use QR codes to authenticate chat history transfers.

New Camera Mode

Whatsapp camera mode switch

WhatsApp is testing new camera mode switching inside the app. Currently, WhatsApp camera features a single shutter button. With this you can tap for photos and tap and hold to capture videos. The new update brings a UI change, with which you can tap on the Video and Photo option to switch between modes.

This is currently in development for iOS and will soon be available. There’s no information about the feature for Android currently.

Block From Notifications

Whatsapp block shortcut 1

You will soon be able to block anyone from chat notifications. The Block option will be shown in the notification when you receive a message from an unknown or untrusted number. You will not be able to block your contacts from notifications, so you won’t be blocking anyone by mistake.

Block Button In The 3 Dot Menu

The block button now appears in a new location. When you select a chat from the Chats screen, click on the three-dot button. Previously, the block button was shown under the contact profile page and inside the chat for new chats. Now it saves time when blocking someone, as you don’t need to go into the chat to block someone.

Comments
Tags: