WhatsApp will continue notifying users to accept the updated policy to users who haven’t. The reminder will eventually become persistent after a period of several weeks. After the persistent reminder, WhatsApp will limit the app’s functionality until the user accepts the updates. The Facebook-owned company adds that this will not happen to all users at the same time.
In a limited functionality mode, WhatsApp users won’t be able to access their chat list. They will only be able to open it and respond to messages through their notifications. Users will also be able to receive incoming audio and video calls. WhatsApp says that even the limited functionality will be stopped after a few weeks. This will pretty much render the messaging service useless for those who don’t accept the new policy.
WhatsApp hasn’t revealed the exact dates until when the messaging platform will offer limited functionality mode if the new terms are not accepted. However, it does confirm that the messaging service will indeed stop working at a later date instead of May 15th.
WhatsApp had received backlash in recent months after the new policy was said to come into effect on February 8. Since then users flocked to rival apps Signal and Telegram. There were concerns of user data being shared with parent company Facebook. However, the messaging service cleared the misinformation and reiterated that neither two companies can access data.