- WhatsApp is testing a self-destructing images feature
- Self-destructing images cannot be exported from WhatsApp
- It will be available on iOS and Android devices in future
Back in November, WhatsApp introduced the Disappearing Messages feature, which can automatically delete conversations after a period of 7 days. Fresh information shared by WABetaInfo reveals that the company is now testing a feature that can self-destruct photos shared with someone after a pre-defined time duration.
WhatsApp’s self-destructing images feature: what to expect?
The screenshots shared by WABetaInfo show that the image preview window will feature a new toggle button sitting alongside the text box. Tapping the button will show a message that reads, “This media will disappear, once you leave this chat.” Once someone shares an image, it will disappear on its own after the chat window is closed. The person who receives the message will also see the same notification message.
The source claims that the self-destructing photos cannot be saved to the phone’s storage. However, the company is yet to add a feature that will prevent users from taking a screengrab of the photo before it disappears. Moreover, the sender will not come to know whether the recipient has taken a screenshot of the image. It is unclear as to how long the photo will remain viewable before it gets deleted.
While the feature appears to be half-baked, the WhatsApp update tracker claims that it will be arriving on iOS and Android platforms in the future. WhatsApp’s rival Telegram has been offering a similar feature called Secret Chat since 2017. The feature allows users to set a self-destruct timer ranging from 1 second to an entire week before sending text messages or media files. It is also equipped with a screenshot detection feature that notifies the user whether the receiver tried to take a screenshot.