Latest!

WhatsApp users will have to delete their account if they don’t accept the new terms of service

On: January 6, 2021

WhatsApp rolled out a host of new features on its messaging platform last month. These include disappearing messages, storage management tool, vacation mode, shopping button for business accounts and a UPI-based payment within the app. Now the Facebook-owned company is updating its terms and service from 2021. 

Also Read: Indane gas: how to book LPG cylinder through WhatsApp, IVRS, SMS, website and app

Now, WhatsApp has sent out in-app notifications to users informing them about the change in its Terms of Service and its privacy policy. The notification is being sent out to both Android and iOS users and users need to accept in order to continue using their accounts in future. Additionally, the company has also updated the terms of services on the official website detailing all specifics of the changes.

WhatsApp users may lose access if they don’t agree to the new terms of service 

WhatsApp is sending out an in-app notification about the change in its terms and privacy policy

The in-app notification reveals how WhatsApp processes user data. It also mentions how businesses can use Facebook-hosted services to store and manage their WhatsApp chats. To continue accessing the instant messenger platform, users will need to agree to the updated terms of service by tapping the ‘Agree’ button.

According to the notification, the new terms of services will come into effect starting February 8th, 2021. WhatsApp users will need to accept the new terms and changes in order to keep using their account after February 8th. The key updates in the notification are in-line with the WABetaInfo report that came out last month. These include changes in how WhatsApp processes data, how WhatsApp partners with Facebook to offer integration across the Facebook company products and how businesses can use Facebook hosted services to store and manage their WhatsApp chats.

WhatsApp has also detailed more specifics of the new terms of services on the official website. The company has detailed how it stores media forwarded by its users on its servers in encrypted form for 30 days to facilitate efficient delivery of additional forward. Additionally, the company has laid out details of how it collects data like Payment account and transaction information for WhatsApp Pay as well as device and connection-specific information for location sharing.

The instant messaging platform has also changed ‘Affiliated Companies’ section to ‘How We Work With Other Facebook Companies’. This section details how WhatsApp and Facebook companies collaborate and share information to ‘help operate, provide, improve, understand, customize, support, and market our Services and their offerings.’

Source

Comments
Tags:
Viraj Gawde

Viraj loves being in the creative field. Being a tech guy and resident tech advisor for his friends and family, his interest lies in smartphones, laptops and cameras. Passionate about creating art, his forte lies in photography. In his downtime, he loves gaming on his self-built rig and supporting FC Barcelona.