- WhatsApp disappearing messages is now available for beta testers
- The public release is expected to happen soon
- With the view once feature, the message will disappear once it is opened by the recipient
WhatsApp ‘View Once’ feature is now rolling out for Android users according to notable publisher WABetaInfo. The latest feature was confirmed by the same publisher earlier this month. However, the exact date of arrival was not known at that time.
It’s worth noting that the view once feature is available for WhatsApp beta version 184.108.40.206 on Android devices. It will likely arrive on the stable version in the coming days. The report also shares screenshots of the new feature giving us a glimpse at how it will work.
WhatsApp View Once feature rolling out for beta users
As the name suggests, the view once feature will make shared content i.e. photos, videos and GIFs disappeared once the recipient sees it. This means that the media can only be viewed once after which it will disappear completely from the chat. Additionally, the sender of the message will also be able to see the status of the message that includes delivered, seen, and opened.
WABetaInfo adds that if the recipient disables the read receipts, the sender will still be able to check if the message set to view once has been opened. With disabled read receipts, users will be able to see when other participants open expiring photos. Also blocked contacts in groups can open disappearing photos and videos even if they cannot call or message you.
The report warns that despite sending messages with the view once feature, the recipient can still take screenshots and media and WhatsApp won’t notify the sender because there is no such feature yet.
WhatsApp ‘View Once’ feature: how to send disappearing media
WhatsApp users will be able to send media with view once enabled to recipients who haven’t received the feature. However, it won’t work the other way round and users need to wait to receive the feature. Check how to send disappearing messages below
- Upload the media you want to share i.e. photos, videos, GIFs.
- Tap the clock-like icon at the right side of the caption bar and hit send
- You can check the status of the message by selecting it and choosing message info.