Latest!

WhatsApp voice messages preview: how to check your WhatsApp voice messages before sending them

WhatsApp voice messages preview feature is finally rolling out to Android and iOS users now. Unfortunately, the feature will not be available to WhatsApp for Desktop users for now. WhatsApp for Desktop users can continue to use voice messages as before but the preview feature will roll out in the future, if at all.

Also read: WhatsApp adds default disappearing messages with multiple durations

The Meta-owned instant messaging platform has been rolling out a host of features lately. These include adding a Rupee symbol for UPI payments, multiple durations for disappearing messages, default disappearing messages, and more. The WhatsApp voice messages preview is the latest addition to the list of new features. Here’s everything you need to know about the latest feature.

What is WhatsApp voice messages preview?

Previously, WhatsApp users could only press on the mic icon, speak their message, and click on send. There was no way to check what has been recorded until after the voice message was sent. If your voice recording had something embarrassing in the background or the ambient noise was too loud for the receiver to hear anything, it wasn’t possible to know before sending.

WhatsApp has now addressed this issue and added a preview option to the voice messages. Users can now record voice messages in hands-free mode and then preview them before sending them. This comes as a much-needed respite for those who use the WhatsApp voice messages feature extensively.

How to preview WhatsApp voice messages before sending them?

Previewing WhatsApp voice messages before sending them across is pretty simple. Follow the steps below to use the feature.

  1. Open WhatsApp on your Android or iOS mobile
  2. Go to the chat window of the contact to whom you want to send a voice message
  3. Tap and hold the microphone button next to the text vox to start recording
  4. To preview, after you start recording, pull the microphone icon upwards
  5. This will lock the chat into recording mode
  6. Usually, this option shows a stop button to stop recording, and after you stop you can either trash or send the message
  7. With the rollout of the new preview feature, once you stop recording, you’ll say a play button
  8. Click on the play button to preview the message you just recorded
  9. If you are satisfied with the message, click on send
  10. If you’re not satisfied with the message, trash it and repeat the above steps again

The feature requires activating the hands-free mode for recording and is not set by default as of now, which would have been ideal. However, the added flexibility is a welcome change and many users will benefit from it.

Comments
Tags:
Abhiman Biswas

Abhiman has over 8 years of experience in content development. He is a Senior Writer and Social Media Manager at Pricebaba. He covers technology news, feature articles, and tech reviews, apart from managing the official Facebook and Instagram handles. Despite a degree in marketing, his love for latest gadgets and technology steered him towards consumer technology coverage.